Are You Smarter Than an NFL Football Player? (Wonderlic Test)

Wonderlic Activity...

Wonderlic Activity…

I’ve decided to have a little fun with my Language Arts/Writing classes. I know you’re thinking, how does taking a test equal fun? I will bring that point home in a short amount of time. I was reading an article, How Smart Are you? Take the Wonderlic Test and Find Out on the Bleacher Report, and I thought I’d take it. I want to say I aced the 15 sample questions, but I didn’t. I received an embarrassing score of 8 out of 15. I gave myself about 5 minutes to take it and perhaps I should have cut the television off. That being said, I’ve always been honest and upfront about my test taking abilities and overall intelligence with my students [i.e., Are You Smarter Than a 7th Grader?]. I’ve never been a good test taker. Give me a written exam, and I will make magic happen;] I digress, for those that are scratching their heads wondering what exactly a Wonderlic Test is, it’s basically a cognitive test that NFL football players are given to gauge their intelligence. In more specific terms, “Players are presented 50 questions to be completed in 12 minutes. The questions are designed to test a person’s capacity to learn and ability to problem-solve, although the correlation between a high Wonderlic score and NFL success is debatable.” If you would like to take the sample test and see how you measure up, go [here].

I’ve been told that motivation, dedication, and determination decide where you end up in life not a test score. That being said, good test scores will put you in a better position to succeed. However, if you don’t have the previously mentioned three things, it becomes a bumpy road to travel. The overall objective for this ‘fun’ activity is to give the kids a real world example of tests being important, but they are not the deciding factor in the final outcome of life. I wanted to make this activity relatable since a good portion of the students watch football and know most of the popular players.

To the actual activity, students will be given 12 minutes to take the sample version of the Wonderlic Test. I will then go over the answers while students keep track of their score and tally up the numbers. Students will come back together for group discussion and share scores if they feel up to it – I will share my score to break the ice. I will also be sharing the scores of popular NFL players in order to start a discussion about work ethic and test taking. The activity will take place on 3/13/13. This activity will hopefully lead into a teacher/student guided discussion about test anxiety and how we deal with being anxious about test taking.

Notable Wonderlic Test Scores:

Adrianne Peterson: 16

Tom Brady: 33

Aaron Rodgers: 35

Randy Moss: 12

Peyton Manning: 28

Cam Newton: 21

Andrew Luck: 37

A.J. Green:10

Joe Flacco: 27

Frank Gore: 6

Larry Fitzgerald: 18

RGIII: 24

Colin Kaepernick: 37

Troy Polamalu: 24

Michael Vick: 20

Ray Lewis: 13

Dan Marino: 15

12 comments on “Are You Smarter Than an NFL Football Player? (Wonderlic Test)

    • Yea, I gave myself about 5 minutes to take it. Didn’t do so well. I had to skip some of the questions because they were taking too long. I figured that’s what I’d have to do on a real test like this – skip ones that I don’t know or ones that took too long. I would need a scratch piece of paper or a calculator for the math;)

    • I was never a good test taker. Perhaps I should have focused more when I took this test ;) In my class, I weight things because I know tests aren’t the only way to determine mastery or intelligence. For example, 25% quizzes/tests, 25% participation/bell work, 25% homework, 25% essays. I don’t want a student to get discouraged because they do poorly on a test because like I said their are other ways to determine mastery. Thanks for stopping by.

  1. Pingback: Your Questions About Practice Asvab Questions Math | Practice ASVAB Questions

  2. fantastic points altogether, you just gained a new reader. What may you recommend in regards to your put up that you simply made some days ago? Any positive?

  3. Thanks for liking my blog! I’m loving it!
    And this is a great post; Interesting, and logical theory. Clearly when we watch football players we can see their nimbleness on the field. So nice to know it translates to other areas of their lives as well!! (BTW: I’m feeling pretty proud of myself, having scored 11!)

  4. This is terrific. I may have to give it to my students. I got 14 of the 15; one of the math questions got to me. The Wonderlic site says to multiply your score by 4.167 to find your real score, so that’s 58.338, but it looks like a 93% to me. I’ll take it. Can I get one of the NFL players’ salaries for just one year now? *snaps fingers* Darn!

Leave a Reply

