Impromptu Nelson Mandela Activity (5W’s)

Nelson Mandela

Nelson Mandela

As twitter erupted about Paris Hilton’s confusion between Nelson Mandela and Martin Luther King’s famous words from the I Have a Dream speech, I wondered if the younger generation would even know the difference if I pointed out her error (turned out to be a hoax). That being said, my main objective for today’s activity will be for students to gain better comprehension of who Nelson Mandela was. I came up with a quick way when I read an article(s) [here] & [here]. I will begin the activity with a bell work prompt, what do you know about Nelson Mandela? I would like gauge student’s prior knowledge before I assume they don’t know who he is/was. The students will then read a combined article to get a better understanding of Nelson Mandela. After the students complete the reading, we will come back together to converse about the content of the article in order to gain better comprehension. I have created a handout [here] that has the 5W’s on it as a way to guide the conversation in the classroom…

*update: Due to time constraints, we didn’t get to complete the activity. On Monday, we will continue with a view & respond using the 5W’s. We will view Miracle Rising South Africa via The History Channel (below). The class will work on (7.SL.1) & (7.SL.5) common core speaking/listening standards with this view & respond about South Africa/Nelson Mandela. One of my main objectives with this type of view and respond is to engage, effectively, in a range of collaborative discussions (one-on-one, in groups, and teacher-led) on topics, texts, and issues, building on others’ ideas and expressing their own point(s) of views clearly. I hope to reach that outcome through the multimedia source presented as well as the news story that has been previously handed out  to the students.

One comment on “Impromptu Nelson Mandela Activity (5W’s)

Leave a Reply

