Display Lesson Plans on Whiteboard

...

Basic blueprint as to how the class will flow for the day…

It may seem like a fairly simple concept, but it can save a lot of time and energy explaining to the class what is on the agenda for the day. By no means is this a revolutionary idea or original for that matter. I saw this being done during a practicum class that I sat in on at Tucson High School. One major difference, he had a smart board – I clearly don’t have that (see pic for visual). However, I make do with what I have because it gets the job done.

During bell work, I go over what is on the agenda for the day. It cuts down on questions and/or kids feeling like they have absolutely no clue as to what is going on in the classroom for the day. I have two white boards, one for Literature & Writing. It works out perfectly. Each morning during prep time, I come in and set up the classroom for instruction, and I update the material that is populated on the whiteboards with current information. The white boards consist of bell work, objective, activities, and homework for the day. Again, this isn’t a revolutionary idea, but it does involve a little extra effort during morning preparation time.

Another reason that I’ve continued this practice, it helps out in classroom/behavior management. If students know expectations, it takes away the excuse of not knowing. It also sets the tone that we are in class to work, and the work is clearly laid out for you to follow. Just so we’re clear, this is a visual way to get your students on task. This may not be applicable for all classrooms and/or teachers. It has been working for two years in my classroom, so I thought I would share.

2 comments on “Display Lesson Plans on Whiteboard

  1. Pingback: Student Interaction During Direct Instruction | Language Arts Blog

Leave a Reply

