Facebook Math Challenge for Bell Work Prompt >>>> 6÷2(1+2) = ?

photo

Before we begin, I know I teach Language Arts. I also know that I am horrible at math. That being said, I think it’s good to mix things up in the class when the opportunity presents itself. I came across this on Facebook, and I thought it would serve for a good Monday morning bell work prompt. This as well as the 5W’s about their weekend activities. I digress, I posed this question in my Facebook status, and I had answers ranging from 1 to 6 to 9. I answered 9, and I’m 99% sure I’m correct. People were challenging the answer, so I did a little search on YouTube to get an evidence based correct answer. All that being said, I’m still 99% sure I’m correct. I will run it by the Math Teacher to get that final 1%.

Overall, I obtained my answer because of prior knowledge as well as knowing that I read from left to right, so that’s how I reached my answer. 6÷2 is 3, 2 +1 is 3, parenthesis indicate multiplication, so we end up with 3 x 3 = 9. Again, I could be wrong (99% sure I am right though). My wife later explained to me that using PEMDAS Order of Operations is a good way to explain it to the kids. My overall objective is to help students by reviewing PEMDAS, and hopefully having some fun while doing it. I think mentioning anything about Facebook brings a smile to the student’s faces…

P = Parenthesis

E = Exponents

M = Multiplication

D = Division

A = Addition

S = Subtraction

3 comments on “Facebook Math Challenge for Bell Work Prompt >>>> 6÷2(1+2) = ?

  1. *screaming* THAAAAAAAANK YOU!! As a K-8 educator whose focus was math, I’d been explaining this to ppl all over FB. It was soooooo getting on my nerves. uuuuuugh!!!

    Shout out to my Jamaican mother who taught me math as a game! She helped me receive the British education at home while attending American schools. lol

  2. I am no longer certain where you are getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend a while studying much more or figuring out more. Thanks for wonderful information I used to be in search of this information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

