Saved By The Bell

Saved by the Bell

Saved by the Bell!

Before we continue, I have to let you know that this is rocket science or a breakthrough in classroom management 😉 As a teacher, I have a pretty even keeled temperament. That being said, it’s never a good thing to raise your voice too much inside a classroom. First things first, nobody likes to be yelled at, kid or adult. Second, raising your voice happens, but make sure it doesn’t happen too often. Thirdly, dinging a bell is much easier. This is a new strategy that I’ve tried out this year. I didn’t want to have to contend for attention or be confrontational when trying to get my class back on task.

Things to remember, you will have to raise your voice or change the tone of your voice at some point in time. That being said, if you establish expectations for when the bell is rung, rational individuals will comply. I let my students know that I don’t like yelling and/or raising my voice in class at the beginning of the year. In an effort to prevent the before-mentioned, I needed them to know when the bell rings, it’s time to regain focus and/or their attention. For the most part, it works. It’s by no means a fool proof idea.

I couldn’t resist ;]

One comment on “Saved By The Bell

Leave a Reply

