Classroom is ready to welcome students back to school! (#Remind101)

Before/After Clean Up ;]

Before/After Clean Up ;]

I am excited for the students to return. I am also excited for our open house on Wednesday night. I will be handing out fliers to let parents know about my classroom blog (here), grabbing parent emails for future reference, and I will, of course, be giving them (parents & students) an overview of what to expect for the school year. I will also be trying out something new called, Remind101. Here is the handout that I will be giving parents (here), and here is a little something from their website: “Remind101 was built, in conjunction with educators, to solve communication obstacles between teachers, students and parents. Across all grade levels and institution types, Remind101 is a safe and simple communication solution to help teachers extend their classrooms. Signing up takes less than two minutes on the website, iPhone app or Android app, and it only takes seconds for students or parents to join a class. Safety is a primary feature: teachers never see students/parents phone numbers, nor will students/parents see theirs” – (Remind101 Website). Honestly, I’m not completely sold on it for obvious privacy issues, but there seems to be some pretty good safeguards in place. Along with this classroom blog, it will be another form of communication between parents. Keeping an open line is always important, so we shall see how this new tool works or doesn’t work in regards to communicating with parents…

I digress, the summer has gone by in a flash. It has been a very eventful as well as productive one for myself. I’ve celebrated the birth of my first child, completed my lesson plans for the upcoming year, completed my classroom notes for those previously mentioned lesson plans as well as units, begun teacher orientation filled with plenty of meetings/trainings, and I have almost completely set up my classroom with some minor custodial duties still to be completed before our open house this Wednesday. I was able to pick up the last big thing, and I was very happy with the deal I received. A local school, Fountain of Life, was having a school sale. I purchased the cart for $20. I’m guesstimating that it is worth a couple hundred dollars – I could be wrong. I do know it will be very complimentary to the projector that I use for classroom notes and audio/visual displays… #4MoreDays

9 comments on “Classroom is ready to welcome students back to school! (#Remind101)

    • They do have an app for iPhone & android phones. The website (remind101.com) lets you set up an account. I was hesitant at first, but it assigns you a number & code to subscribe. The # cannot be texted back which is great. Once you set up a profile online, you can send messages from there. The profile is good because it lets you see who is subscribed. It’s definitely something I’m going to try to work into my lines of communication with parents…

  1. I’m going to have to look into this! I’m one of those teachers that shares all of my contact information with parents, though. It doesn’t bother me to give out my cell phone number, but I like this idea! Just when I was going to incorporate a classroom newsletter, technology comes up with a better solution. Lol. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. Wow, your before and after photos reminded me of my old classroom. During the summer, the custodians did “deep cleaning” [that’s what it was called] and on my first-day back the week before school started, I was always greeted with the desks piled on top of each other against one of the walls.

    I would untangle the pile and get ready for the first day of school until it looked pretty much like your second photo.

    I taught for thirty years and retired eight years ago.

    • I appreciate the floors being done by the custodian staff, but I didn’t mind having to do the set up. I like putting things my way. I’m just glad we didn’t have to reset up the walls like previous years. I’m glad the year is underway…

Leave a Reply

